2019 award winners

AEA gives awards of recognition for Eastside human services!

The Alliance of Eastside Agencies gives individuals or organizations that have demonstrated outstanding dedication and vision in human services the recognition he/she/they ought to have. Award winners are nominated annually by AEA members.

The 2019 awards were presented on June 5th at the annual AEA Awards Luncheon held at Daniel's Broiler in Bellevue. Co-chairs Helen Banks Routon and Rochelle Clayton-Strunk presented the awards. Keynote speaker, James Whitfield, President and CEO of Leadership Eastside spoke about creating an equitable community, and the role of health and human service organizations in equitable social innovation.

Keynote speaker James Whitfield
Keynote speaker James Whitfield, President & CEO, Leadership Eastside

2019 Award Winners

To view a video about each award winner below, simply click on the video button [ ] beside the name.

• Volunteer of the Year: Robin Negrin, Kindering

Lisa Greenwald, CEO of Kindering, accepts award on behalf of Robin Negrin.

"This year's award goes to a volunteer who is committed, respectful, responsible, and enthusiastic! She is always ready to jump in and help with any project." (Lisa Greenwald of Kindering accepted the award for Robin Negrin.)

• Not-For-Profit Staff Member: Madeline Fish, Eastside Baby Corner

Madeline Fish (center) of Eastside Baby Corner receives her award.

This year's winner's passion, skill, wisdom, and leadership are all things that are depended on each week. She never lets anyone down.

• Business: Commercial Office Interiors

Deb Rock (2nd from right) of Commercial Office Interiors

This year's winner has generously contributed their talent and fine products so that an agency can do their best work helping infants and children with special needs.

• Youth Volunteer: T.J. Lopez, Eastside Legal Assistance Program

T.J. Lopez (center) accepts his award.

The nominator for year's winner says, "We are so fortunate to have such a competent, dedicated volunteer. He is a shining example of a person who can contribute to make their community better."

• Elected Official: Bellevue Councilmember John Stokes

Councilmember Stokes, with AEA Co-Chairs Helen Banks Routon and Rochelle Clayton Strunk.

This year's winner is a leader in Bellevue who is a longtime advocate for affordable housing and livability, as well as education.

• Faith Organization: MAPS-MCRC

Representatives of MAPS-MCRC receive the Faith Organization Award.

This year's award winner has responded with visible outreach to our community members to serve, support, educate, and advocate for people in need of all faiths, regardless of beliefs.

Award Categories:

Volunteer of the Year: Recognizes the important value volunteers bring to the human services sector in advocacy, service delivery or community organizing. Recipient is recognized with a $75 restaurant gift card.
Business of the Year: Recognizes the charitable actions that the business community brings to the human services sector through engaging its employees to "give back." Recipient is recognized on the AEA website, newsletters and brochure for one year.
Youth Volunteer: Recognizes the contributions of time and talent of young people to the human services sector and supports their philanthropic development. Recipient is awarded $100 for education/training through the Phil Noble scholarship fund.
Not-for-Profit Staff: Recognizes an outstanding staff person who tirelessly supports the mission of helping others and consistently exemplifies commitment, ethics and competency. Recipient awarded $100 for education/training through the Phil Noble scholarship fund.
Faith Organization: Recognizes the important partnership between the faith community and the human services sector by honoring an exceptional faith group which has taken action and done an outstanding community service to help those in need in our eastside community. Recognized on the AEA website, newsletters and brochures for one year.
Elected Official: Recognizes an elected official who has been a bold "catalyst for change" to better the understanding of, and support for, human services. Recipient recognized on the AEA website, newsletters and brochures for one year.

» Past Award Winners

© Copyright 2010-2020 Alliance of Eastside Agencies. Website design by Richard Middleton.